IGNORED

Natchez Trace Trip

Volfan615

Having only been about a year since I started riding I just completed my first trip. I left last Sunday to ride the Natchez Trace Parkway to Natchez and then back to Nashville on Wednesday. The entire trip was about 980 miles. 200 miles the first day down to Tupelo and then 300 miles on Monday on down to Natchez with a small detour along the way to see the Windsor Ruins. Then 280 on Tuesday back to Tupelo and 200 Wednesday back home to Nashville. I think I could have ridden all the way through on Tuesday but my butt was starting to feel the stock seat. Now I know why the after market seats are so popular.

While the Natchez Trace is not a real technical ride and some sections can be boring, overall it is a great trip especially if you are into history. The road surface is great almost all the way except for some slightly rough sections in MS and they are begging to repave some of those areas. A lot of the time you feel like you have the whole road to your self. I saw a lot of bikes out on the trace most of them being packs of Harleys. I think I only saw 3 other beemers the whole trip. One of those was another R1200RT that was at the same hotel in Natchez but I didn’t notice it until I was headed out on Tuesday morning.

Here are some of the pictures I made during the trip. Hope you enjoy.

Loaded up and ready to go.

leaving.jpg

Nashville Entrance

entrance.jpg

Watervalley Overlook

wv-overlook.jpg

Meriwether Lewis Monument

ml1.jpg

ml2.jpg

ml3.jpg

stream.jpg

Colbert Ferry where the original ferry operated over the Tennessee River.

colbert-ferry.jpg

Bear Creek Mound

bcmounds1.jpg

bcmounds2.jpg

Twenty Mile Bottom

20milebtm1.jpg

20milebtm2.jpg

Old Trace and graves of 13 unknown Confederate Soldiers

oldtrace1.jpg

oldtrace2.jpg

oldtrace3.jpg

oldtrace4.jpg

Tupelo National Battlefield

battl1.jpg

battle2.jpg

battle3.jpg

Baldcypress Swamp

swamp1.jpg

swamp2.jpg

swamp3.jpg

swamp4.jpg