IGNORED

Linked brakes

Tonopah

I'm new to the K12GT and BMW brakes. Mine is an '07 so no servo assisted. I am accustomed to using both the front and rear brakes to slow down -- you know, slow progressive squeeze on the front and some use of the rear at the same time. I understand that many BMW owners use the front brake only -- relying on that to activate both brakes.

Any reason why I can't stick to what I am used to -- using them both? Or is there an advantage to using only the front brake? Does using them both sort of defeat the linked brakes thing and possibly result in worse (less effective)braking than just using the front brake only?

ShovelStrokeEd

Nope, to all your questions. Go right on doing what you had been doing. In fact, you may wish to reconsider your usage of the brakes a bit. The debate over whether BMW has optimized the braking linkage on their bikes has been presented here before. As I recall, the consensus is that they have not and the best method for most effective brake application is still to apply the rear brake first, shortly followed by strong application of the front brakes.

The reasoning is more or less as follows.

The rear brake will provide its most effective braking during the short period during which the bike has not fully transfered its weight to the front wheel. It follows then, that this brake should be applied first and then, as the loading on the front wheel increase traction on that end, the front brake is applied with increasing vigor up to the limits of that traction. Note that it may be necessary to modulate the pressure on the rear brake to avoid loss of traction on that wheel. Lots of words to describe the action but, a visual representation of the sound might be easier. "taDUMtaa.a..a,,,a" might be close.