IGNORED

wee-Strom vs Multistrada 620

Shawnee Bill

Shawnee Bill

It is getting close to time to pass my R1100R to my son. I have been saying for several months now that when it turned 100,000 miles it would be time for a new ride. Today it is at 98,600. I had about decided on a 650 V-Strom to replace it but a couple of weeks ago I found that I can get a new Ducati Multistrada 620 for just a few dollars more.

So how do these two compare. I need something to do an endurance rally a couple of times a year. I like to ride 600-800 mile days. Something that will make dirt roads a little more comfortable, jeep trails. I can do some of those on my R1100R but it is a bit heavy sometimes and not good ground clearance.

And can I continue to do all maintenance myself on the multistrada?

I had a Wee for 15 months and 10000 miles - and while I owned the Wee, I took a very nice, high speed 45 minute test ride on the Multi 620.

The bikes are very different - when I got off the Multi and back on to the Wee, I felt like I got out of a Ferrari and back into the family station wagon. And don't get me wrong, the Wee is a fun bike - great motor, good handling. But the Multi just screams out to you, "let's rock".

I came close to getting a Multi after that test ride, but decided to save my license and go a totally different way and now ride a DR650 and a Transalp.

If I was choosing between a Wee and a Multi, I'd go for the Duc.

I haven't ridden the 650 V-Strom, but I know the bigger V-Strom is a more comfortable touring mount than the Multistrada and I presume the wee-Strom is also. The Multistrada doesn't have a lot of wind protection, so you face a fair amount of wind blast and buffeting on the highway. There is a big windshield available from Laminar that supposedly helps, but some of its users still complain about buffeting. The 620 is also known to be a bit buzzy, but then again so was the R1100R.