IGNORED

2001 F-650 GS Info

otis

Hello,

I'm looking for a starter bike for my wife. She loves the BMW adventure bikes and I found a 2001 F-650 GS for sale locally.

I have zero experience with he 650 and I'm looking for information. Anyone care to comment regarding reliabilty, rideabiltiy (5'2" 1st time rider), pros, cons, known probelms, ect. on this bike before I purchase?

Thanks....Pat

gettysburg

A better source for info/guidance on the F650GS would be The Chain Gang

I don't recall what year BMW made the switch, but later F650 models have the twin-spark ignition which eliminate the surging problem that older models experienced. That would be a question to ask the seller; whether or not the 2001 has 1 or 2 spark plugs.

My wife and I started riding with the F650GS(2005 model). We bought them new and no problems for the 10,000+ miles we had the bikes. In the end, the bikes didn't suit the type of riding we wanted to do, so we traded up; my wife to R1200GS and I with a 1R200RT.

+1 for the Chain Gang.

We have a '99 in our garage. My wife, who was a first-time rider when we got it, loves it, although the seat height was a challenge, and it seems heavy for its size. After a lowering kit and re-shaping the saddle, she can flat foot it at 5'6" w/ ~ average inseam. After those mods, and at 6'4", all I need is a fez to complete the Shriner look when I get on it.smirk.gif

I think the fuel tank in the '01 and later bikes is mainly under the saddle, which helps with weight distribution but might not help with the seat height issue.

That Rotax thumper hasn't changed much over time. It runs like a Timex and makes decent power for that kind of bike (and the right size rider).

I bought an 05 650GS a year and a half ago when I finally realized I was tired of looking at the back of my hubby's head. It was my first bike and I've learned a lot on it.