IGNORED

Why go to school?

Misti

As a coach for a motorcycle riding school, I often wonder what motivates riders to seek training (any kind of rider training) in the first place. Is it because of a bad experience on the road or a crash of some kind? Is it to learn to be safer or smoother or faster? What types of rider training have you had and what were the reasons you signed up in the first place???

Cherio, Misti grin.gif

russell_bynum

When I started riding (dirt as a kid), my parents taught me. (They were self-taught.) I did OK, but I was a kid, so probably didn't know any better.

When I bought my first street bike, I figured "I already know how to ride." so I skipped the MSF class. What a rude awakening that was! I had a trial by fire learning to ride while commuting in Southern California. It is a wonder I survived.

I signed up for the Superbike School because a bunch of my friends and some really good riders I know (and David Baker, too wink.gif ) had done a few days with the school and had nothing but praise. After the first two levels, I was starting to understand just how much I didn't know and how much I had to work on. We mostly do track days now, but I like to go back to the school at least once a year to reinforce the skills, help me deal with any bad habits I have developed, and give me stuff to work on during my regular track days.

When we bought dirt bikes a month or so ago, we immediately signed up for the MotoVentures dirt rider class. It gave us a good fundamental understanding of what we needed to be doing, and I'm sure it'll increase our fun and decrease the amount of time we spend on the ground wondering how our bike got way the hell over there . grin.gif