IGNORED

Botched brake bleeding job.

Taarne

Hello there smile.gif

A little background information. I'm a proud owner of a '99 R1100S with 30k km (20k miles) on the clock. This is my second bike, just bought it last year, had a brief run with a honda 500 before that. While putting the bike to the garage last fall, I noticed the rear brake was quite sticky, it would hardly turn at all when I'd try to spin the wheel with the bike on the center stand. I decided to wait until the spring.

Today, it was sunny and a little above freezing, so I deemed it to be spring and thus time for a fluid change, to see if it would help. So, I hop and skip to get some dot 4 brakefluid, strip down a bit of plastic and get to it. I've never done it before, but I read all kinds of guides on it over the winter.

I open the back reservoir, top it up a little with fresh brake fluid, attach a tube to the bleed nipple, pump the rear brake for a while, then compress it a little, opening the bleedingthingy at the same time. Lo and behold, some rather brown liquid pops in the tube. I compress the brake a little further, being careful to not bottom out the brake. I repeat this a few times, but..there's not really that much liquid coming out before I feel the brake starting to bottom out and me having to close the valve.

About 45 minutes after that, I go back to the house grumblin, very much aware of the fact that I just [censored]ed up the whole thing. Great, the brake is no longer sticky, but it doesn't do anything, either. Push the brake as far as one can, nothing happens. Clickety-click, it makes a wondeful sound, but..nothing happens. On further attempts to drain out the system, nothing comes out of the system with the brake level pressed down. The reservoir is still topped off.

Why didn't I take it to a dealer? I'm living in Norway, the land of crazy prices, my norwegian is very rusty (I'm finnish) and the nearest place is some 150-200km away. Plus it sounded really easy tongue.gif.