IGNORED

Just upgraded to Streets and Trips 2007

steveknapp

Features seem pretty much the same, which is good, I like the progam myself.

But the speed at which it draws the maps, calcs routes, and does it's searches is MUCH faster than 2005 which I was running before.

One thing I do not like is that you cannot change the actual driving speeds on road types, you can only adjust a slide to "faster" or "slower". That and some road errors in Atlanta make me wish I had not upgraded this year. I will still use the 2006 version on my laptop.

Can you import a route/map from Streets and Trips into a Garmin? I have S&T 2006. I seem to like it better then the Garmin map program.

First off, I'm no GPS expert, and I didn't even stay in a Holiday Inn Express last night, but...

Your question got me to thinking, so I did a little Googling and found this site: http://www.gpspassion.com/forumsen/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=21067&whichpage=1

Go down to Tip #22 and it gives you 3 potential options. I went with option three, and downloaded the free convertor program. Then I figured what the hey, and ordered S&T 2007 from Amazon for $35. I'll see if I can get S&T compatibility with my 276c for little risk. You already have S&T so you could download the free convertor program and give it a try.

Good luck,

Tom

Steve - I upgrade every year and not being able to put in an actual speed is new for 2007. I believe the "average" speed in the new version is based on the actual speed limit and we all know how accurate that is! Even by putting all of the slide scales in the "fastest" position I could only get a difference of less than 15 minutes on a 250 mile trip. I could get very accurate travel times by putting in actual average speeds instead of the speed limit in the older programs. Around here 65 means 80!

What am I missing, I have 2006 and all I have for adjusting speeds are the slide bar. Is there another area where I need to go to turn something on?

confused.gif