IGNORED

R1200RT Tank Bag

jtb

My BMW tank bag is starting to look pretty shabby and I have been looking at he Tourtech tank bag and the Wunderlich tank bag as an alternative to tbe BMW bag. Do any of you have any experience with either of these bags? confused.gif

I have no experience with the T or W brands but I do have a Marsee tank bag that is working well for me. I would recommend you look at their tear drop shape bags. It mirrors the shape of the tank. Depending on how much room you need I would get the 15-20 liter size. They are very well made and reasonably priced. I bought mine from a private party and it looked brand new.

I just received my BMW RT bag in the mail. I gotta say, the mounting system is just plain slick. I've yet to put on a single mile (in fact I just put the bag on the bike for the first time.) But the BMW bag looks to be very well made. Easy on and easy off.

I found it at an online parts store for 265. I was pleased given that most places have it at 308. Admittedly - thats a lot of cash. But...I had to have the tank bag.

Where did you find it for $265, the least I have found it for was $285.00. I admit the BMW bag is very nice, I am just looking to maybe find something different.

Webparts.com has it for 265.91 - Shipping was prompt. No complaints.

I was thinking about which bag to get - and looking at other options for a while now. After months of trying to decide I finally just went with the BMW bag.

You should post what you think of the bag after 6-7 months. I'm extremely disapointed with my bag.

- Adhesive holding on the rubber bumpers has turned to chalk. I had already lost one before I noticed this. I've since re-attached them with automotive weatherstrip adhesive.

After a good rain, the bag will pool with water between the waterproof sac and outer shell(as much as a pint). The bag will create a big puddle where you set it down. They should have just supplied a slip-on rain cover. I use a raincover from a Wolfman Denali bag.