IGNORED

Mt Cheaha in Alabama- A great fall ride

BamaRider

There is a lodge and restaraunt at the top of the mountain. On the outside it looks nice with a great view of the hills, but yet to eat there, and can't speak to the quality.

My lunch was in Talldega, at McCaigs Motel? Pretty good hamburger.

Because Google only allows 100mb uploads I had to trim the last 3 min of video of the ride home, which was even more special. I'll have it posted soon, so you can get a feel for the ride downhill.

I've experienced fall in every corner of Eastern America, and this enclave of hills, this year, is as good as I've ever witnessed, and I've been riding to Cheaha every fall for 35 years. If you live within 150 miles of the place I suggest playing hooky from work to enjoy your motorcycle and a day to yourself riding those hills.

I filmed this story a few days ago, and I don't know how long the leaves hold peak, but I'm sure the window is small.

A good oppurtunity for a southern boy to see what fall in New England is like.

Breakfast is pretty good but dinner selections are limited and rather bland. You can rent a cabin with kitchen and outdoor grill. See ya. Bill