IGNORED

Ever hit by debris from oncoming truck?

KeithH

Hello all,

I've been riding an 1150R for a couple years now and was returning from a day trip to the NC Outer Banks. About 10 miles from home, I was on a 2 lane road at about 60 mph. Just as I passed a log truck that I was meeting head on, I saw some pine bark peel off and head toward me. A piece about 3x6 inches hit my left hand and smaller pieces hit my chest and helmet. All I really had time to do was hold on to bars tight, and close my eyes (sorry, naughty reflexes). My left hand was pretty sore and bruised but that was about it. Probably lucky after being hit at a closing speed of >100mph. I always try to pass vehicles with scary loads, but I was wondering how often people have been hit when meeting head on?

I've been reading these boards for a long time and seen really good discussions.

Thanks,

Keith

Bart Anderson

A motorcyclist was killed in northern MN last year when a tube (the kind pulled behind a boat) flew out of a trailered pontoon going the other direction on Hwy 169 near Mille Lacs.

On a related note, a local news channel recently did a piece about unsecured loads in trucks, and the DOT guy they interviewed said they ususally end up ticketing 80% (!) of the drivers they stopped at checkpoints for failure to properly secure their load.

Be careful out there...

Hello all,