IGNORED

BMW,NA...Customer Service....Oxymoron....may I vent?

gnuse

First, thanks for allowing me to express some facts, some expectations, and some opinions. Feedback welcomed.

I suppose one must expect the world has changed since they started riding 45 years ago (only owned bikes for 33years). I am competent at maintaining my bikes at the level an owner was expected to be able to back when I started riding. Now I will tell my story.

Today I noticed I had a small nail in the rear tire of my R1150RT. Murphy's Law got me, as I had an appointment to install new tires tomorrow. So I get ready to take off the rear tire and take it to have the new rear tire installed. As it is the first time I had done this I took out the owner's manual to see if there were any items I needed and was that a surprise. There is no mention of what to do in case of a flat. Ok, I have a shop manual, but that is going a bit far, I am just trying to fix a flat tire, not rebuild something.

I notice the presence of Torx bolts and the one's on the caliper are between the sizes that I have. I mistakedly assumed that someone at BMW could point me in the right direction or simply tell me what I needed to change the tire/remove it from the bike. Boy, was I ever mistaken. I spoke to a couple of people in customer service at BMW,NA and they all expressed that NO ONE there could answer any of my questions. I told them they I would have expected to find flat tire instructions in the owner's manual.....silence on the other end. Surely there must be someone with some technical/mechanical experience there........silence.