IGNORED

Newbie Safety Question

Crazy_Canuck

Crazy_Canuck

I am relatively new to street riding (road dirt bikes) and I consider my self to be a cautious rider and I am always looking for any potential hazards.

The one thing that scares me the most...is sitting at a red light and someone plows into you from behind. Is there any defense (defensive driving) against something like that? confused.gif

Any comments would be appreciated.

Thanks Rob

Joe Frickin' Friday

Keep it in first gear, clutch-in, and keep an eye on your mirrors until you get a couple of cars stopped behind you.

If legal, (it is in California) lane split to the front of stopped traffic. No worry of rear-enders when the stopped cars are behind you.

If you are unable to split, then position your motorcycle to the left or right of your traffic lane and "watch your six" by checking your mirrors for threats approaching from behind that is not stopping. Keep your bike in first gear and be ready to split between cars when you think you are about to be tagged from behind.

Francois_Dumas

I also switch my brake light on and off until I am sure the car approaching behind me is slowing down. And keep watching them to be sure....

"Behind us" is one of those places that requires constant checking. When coming to a red light, you can't devote 100% of your attention to what's in front of you. You should be checking those mirrors frequently and, in fact, should have been doing so all along so that you're always as aware as possible of what's going on behind you. Your approach to any stop must include 360 degrees of awareness because stopping and stopped are when you are most vulnerable.

When you make your stop, don't leave yourself pinned in. Leave space and position yourself such that you can get around whatever is in front of you. If you can (as in CA) filter to the front so that there is no one directly behind you. That way you can avoid being the balogna in the sandwich that's about to be made!