IGNORED

Definitive Answer on Higher Wattage Bulbs

moshe_levy

All-

I just completed my first "mini trip" with the RT, up to the MOA Nationals in VT and back. The lighting has just GOT to be upgraded. I asked this a few weeks ago, but got no definitive answer. I'm hoping someone can tell me:

Can the stock wiring harness and headlight assembly handle effectively doubling the wattage of the low and/or high beams from h7/55w & h3/55w respectively to 110W apiece? If not, PIAAs are readily available and should help. Either way, let me know please.

I bought the Run-N-Lites at the rally - will install soon and report back here.

-MKL

PS - I LOVE this bike!!

Jerry Johnston

On my 96rt the wiring was fine but, the lens fogged up some and I worried more about the switch so replaced it with the org. wattage. It's better to add additional lights.

I have been running a 80W/100W lamp for about 10 years now in an RT, no problems whatsoever. It helps quite a bit but I still added auxilliary lighting, a couple of Hella FF50's on EMP brackets. That did the trick, haven't found myself wanting any more.

DavidEBSmith

Definitive answer here? Ha.

My opinions: