IGNORED

clutch slipping 96 R1100RT

pooryoric

Short version - had clutch replaced last year, now it's exhibiting the same symptoms as before. The clutch seems to be slipping. It happens in every gear. I smell burning clutch lining.

Is there an adjustment to be made that can help or will I just have to take it in again. I'm not up for breaking it all the way down to get at the clutch.

And is there anything other than user error to explain going through a clutch in a year and less than 3000 miles? I've been driving sticks for 20 years and never had any similar problems. Never had problems on my other bikes (with chain drives).

I think this bike had some clutch slippage when I got it 3 years ago, but I was unfamiliar with this type of bike and thought it was normal for the model until it started getting worse.

I have two manuals - Haynes and Clymers (??) - but haven't had a chance yet to peruse for this issue. You can refer me there if there are relevent sections and it'll save you typing.

THANKS!

Definitely not normal and unless you're really abusing the clutch (and it doesn't sound like it) then some other problem is at work. Is the clutch cable properly adjusted? Bad throwout bearing? Or perhaps have a leaking oil seal that is contaminating the clutch?

Sorry about the clutch. What was the cause of the clutch first replacement? Was it worn out or was there some contamination that wasn’t addressed when the clutch was replaced? Through ’97 it appears that some of the seals on the transmissions failed for a number of reasons. This leak causes oil to contaminate the friction plate and therefore a slipping clutch. With so few miles after a replacement you could be in that same boat. It could also mean that the clutch plate installed was defective. There is a clutch adjustment but if there is some free play it’s highly unlikely that you can adjust out the slip.