IGNORED

GPS Short Comings

Steve Kolenda

Steve Kolenda

I have a Garmin 276C which I really like but I have a couple of complaints about routing. The first being that the maps are not always correct and I believe this is because state maps where never intended for exact navigation and over time I believe this will improve. The second being that directions are not always given when needed and often given when not needed. For example: "keep right" when there is no way that you would ever go right and no instruction where the route that you are on is "X" and the road y's to "Z" and you belong on "Z". I suspect this is an issue with poor logic within the software. Is this a problem unique to Garmin?

I am totally new to this GP thing,but I want one...which one I'm not sure, so, I'm glad you brought up the topic Steve.

I could really use some input on which to buy/not to buy...

Stan Walker

There is a place on the Garmin web site for reporting map errors. If we all use it this will improve all of our our GPS's over time.

Stan

You will get input on this board about all units, many are the best thing since bikini's of course. GPSCity.com has some info sections that detail the hows/why's/wherefores of gps's (no affiliation whatsoever). Worth at least taking a browse thru in addition to listening to users here and in your group. Good luck.

Dunno: I've never ridden your state, but I've got two Garmin units, a 2610 and a 60CSx, have used them in 15-20 states, and a lot of Canada and have never seen the issue you discuss.

Yeeha! Stephen

I use Garmin GPS's everyday in my work and have no problems when the unit is consistantly recieving 8 satellites.