IGNORED

Autocom vs. Starcom1 Advance

daustin173

daustin173

Any experience / opinions on these two products for a rider to passenger intercom system. Looking for the best bang for the buck, but I want it to work.

Get the Autocom - Quality is A+

A friend got the Starcom and myself and another got the Autocom.

Functional problems were only from the Dealer hooking up the Starcom negative to a screw instead of the battery which caused it to be impossible to use unless the bike was only idling.

Starcoms had cheaper connectors, thinner wires, and was not as user friendly to hook up.

Autocom was much better with thicker wires and better connectors (very noticeably). Autocom will withstand a lot more miles IMHO.

Well worth the extra $$ which was not that much more for me. Also Rider to Passenger was perfect for my Autocom.

chrisolson

I have no Autocom experience, but it is undoubtably a fine product...

I have two starcoms, the original and the new advance. Both functioned perfectly out of the box. Two years after purchase on the first one, the push to talk gave up...they sent a new one at no charge - from the UK! Throw in the original purchase price difference, and I don't know what more a product needs to do than that. YMMV grin.gif

Everyone on this board will tell you that I'm a big supporter of Autocom. This is partially because I'm a manager at one of the nation's top Autocom dealers. I admit that I have no personal experience with Starcom. But I do with Autocom. We configure them to do what the customer wants, sell them, install them and stock the accessories people need. This isn't a sales pitch, it's credentials. We know Autocom.