IGNORED

Tire gauge obsessions

Scotto336

Scotto336

They used to say that a man with 2 watches never really knows what time it is, then came the internet, smart phones and smart watches.  I think the same can be said for tire pressure gauges, so I put together a test rig with my Fluke pressure calibrator to see where my 2 commonly used, shop pressure gauges stood against a $2000 calibrated Fluke meter.  I’ve been using the Motion Pro digital gauge for many years and then started using the Harbor Freight digital gauge recently since it’s in line with my compressor hose so easier to use.  I tested them both at 42 psi.  The Motion Pro came in 0.2 psi low and the Merlin was 0.4 psi high, so both were within 1% at that pressure.  The Merlin is advertised as + or – 1% up to 250psi and the Motion Pro was advertised as + or - .6 psi up to 60 psi, so both were within advertised accuracy.  I marked them accordingly.  This is not to say that they will all be this accurate, just the ones that I tested.  The Motion Pro is currently listed for around $120 though I saw one listed by Walmart for $39.  The Merlin was $60.  FWIW I did read a very bad review on the analog, oil filled gauge from Motion Pro so I would tend to avoid that.  While I was at it, I checked my made in USA, Milton pencil gauge that always comes with me and it was just a smidge over 1 psi High.  It goes for about $10 on Amazon.

test rig.jpg

gauges.jpg

• Like 1
duckhawk64

I have 6. I am obsessed. I won't go digital, except the r125rt, unmoving display. 

• Smile 1

I own 3, one digital, a cheapo analog, and my favorite, a made in France Michelin made by Schrade  that I won as a door prize at a rally around 25 years ago. I have tested it many times against calibrated professional gauges and it always dead nots on or +/- 1lb which is close enough for me on the street. It stays on my bike!

• Like 1
Lowndes

Well....I used to be obsessive about it, too, full disclosure.