IGNORED

The cheapest thing on a BMW is the rider... yeah, this is an oil thread...

Twisties

Twisties

The specification for engine/tranny oil on my 1250 GS is "SAE 5W-40, API SL/JASO MA2."  I put this in the shiftcam forum because I assume it's the same for all of the shiftcam engines.  I know we have folk that strongly hold that an oil must meet and be labeled with both the SL and the JASO MA2 standards. I'm no oil expert.  But what I read in other forums suggests that's it one or the other, and preferably JASO MA2.  Precious few are labeled with both.  In fact, the BMW Advantec Ultimate is labeled SN/JASO MA2.  JASO MA2 is apparently meant for motorcycles with wet clutches. 

So far I've been using Motul 7100.  It does have both the SL and JASO MA2 labels, and I searched all around the web for it's molybdenum content and found it seems to be less than BMW's.  It's a bit cheaper than the BMW stuff, but nothing earth shattering. 

Now enter Shell Rotella T6.  A full synthetic motor oil with the JASO MA2 label, but marketed for diesel engines.  It's available locally in a nice 5W-40 for half the price of the Motul and a third the price of the BMW Advantec Ultimate.   If you adhere to the JASO MA2 or API SL theory, it would appear to meet the specification.  If you adhere to the JASO MA2 and SL theory, it would not. 

So, 

1.  What's your feeling on what BMW's intent is, SL or JASO MA2  OR  SL and JASO MA2....  please provide any evidence you have to support your view.  Convince me.

2.  Would it be crazy to use the Rotella T6?  Why?

P.S.  I'll almost certainly continue with the Motul, but I am just curious what people think, and if there is any actual evidence one way or the other.

dirtrider
40 minutes ago, Twisties said: