IGNORED

Long Tour Advice

Bistro

Hi Folks,

I'm taking my 2000 R1100RT-P on a 6,000 tour starting next month. Vermont to Taos NM to Boise ID and back through Canada. Spent the winter going over the usual everything, and the bike is running well. I've been riding for 45+ years, and this is the longest trip I've planned. My Questions:

• What tools do you bring for on the road mishaps? I have tire patch kit, mini compressor, jump start pack, and the standard hand tool kit. What else do you find important?
  • What spare parts would you bring?
  • Any other advice?

Thanks!

• Like 1
dirtrider
41 minutes ago, Bistro said:

Hi Folks,

I'm taking my 2000 R1100RT-P on a 6,000 tour starting next month. Vermont to Taos NM to Boise ID and back through Canada. Spent the winter going over the usual everything, and the bike is running well. I've been riding for 45+ years, and this is the longest trip I've planned. My Questions:

• What tools do you bring for on the road mishaps? I have tire patch kit, mini compressor, jump start pack, and the standard hand tool kit. What else do you find important?
  • Any other advice?

Thanks!

Afternoon  Bistro

You might take an HES as those are probably not in stock in most areas. 

Are your brake hoses replaced? If not then you should probably replace those before your trip. 

Back when I was traveling long distance on the 1100 or 1150 I didn't take much with me but I had things like HES, final drive crown bearing, throttle cable, etc at home & labeled so it could be quickly over-nighted to me if needed. 

I did carry a long lightweight tow strap, homemade lightweight jumper cables (now would carry a small starter pack),

On the air pump, again light weight, small 12v compressor with the housing removed to make much smaller & the hose shorted (to store easier) & the wires lengthened to allow the pump to get out to the wheels  (easire to pack with a short hose but longer smaller wires).