IGNORED

Navigation - Connected App- Route Question

simskid

simskid

I have a question maybe one of you can answer.  I have also sent this to BMW support but haven't heard back.  FYI - I am in CT and have a new 2024 RT.  ( Wasn't sure where I should post this question).  

I am just beginning to use the Connected app navigation and it seems to work ok in terms of setting up local routes.  However, the only way that I seem to be able to set up long distance routes is using google maps and changing the URL to a GPX and importing it into to the app.  That seems to work fine.   But if I try to use to use the app to set up a long distance route - let's say somewhere in Iowa the app doesn't find ANY Iowa addresses .  In fact it doesn't find addresses anywhere outside a few states from CT (it doesn't find Des Moines, Minneapolis, San Diego, etc).  My worry is that if I am somewhere in Montana and need to set to set up a route will the app identify those addresses in the Montana area and region?  

I have downloaded all of the North America maps so I am assuming the app has a geo limit to it OR am I dong something wrong and have I missed something in the setup?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

John

At the time of you trying to create those more distant routes, were you connected to the internet with the phone? I believe quite a bit of data is still accessed on demand when planning, but once the route is created it stores all related info on the phone. Haven't tested it though I use a dedicated app to create my routes.

simskid
7 minutes ago, Hati said:

At the time of you trying to create those more distant routes, were you connected to the internet with the phone? I believe quite a bit of data is still accessed on demand when planning, but once the route is created it stores all related info on the phone. Haven't tested it though I use a dedicated app to create my routes.