IGNORED

Bike sitting. Started but sudden no spark r1100rt

mike424

mike424

Experienced cycle owner, first bmw. 2000 r1150rt 30k miles sat for 3 years. Started at guys house, started at home. Took bodywoork and tank off for a good cleaning and maintenance. Put tank back on and no spark. Ive read alot about the hall sensor. I saw the connector to fuel tank looked not great. Will those go out with no warning?  And now my fuel pump runs constant with ignition on. Do i need to bleed air from lines?  

Hi Mike,

Welcome, and congratulations on a great choice of bike. You might end up with a bit of wrenching from time to time but look at it as bonding with your new love.

When you say "no spark" did you actually check for a spark, or does it just not start, which could be a fuelling issue. That seems more likely as you have just had the tank off.

I am by no means an expert but from my limited experience I would suggest that before worrying about the hall-effect sensor that was working OK so far, you should check:

1. that you have properly reconnected both fuel lines to/from the tank. They have inline ball valves that will prevent leakage when disconnected (a Good Thing) but will also prevent fuel flow when nearly, but not fully, reconnected (a Bad Thing). Careful when forcing these back together as they can break, giving you the opportunity to buy some sturdy aftermarket ones.

2. that you have reconnected the electric connector to the fuel tank properly. There might be corroded connectors there so treat yourself to a can of switch/contact cleaner and spray some in before plugging it in (more detailed instructions on the side of the can).Also treat yourself to a tube of dielectric grease (ie that does not conduct electricity) and squeeze a bit in there first to protect the connectors.

Hopefully it will be one of those, otherwise come back with an update.

Cheers,

Pat

• Like 1
mike424

Yes, actually checked spark. No spark, even with lead to neg battery terminal