IGNORED

R1150RT Keeping the rain off

RandallBT

Greetings, newbie here! 

I live on my boat, at a marina, which means I need a really good cover for my R1150RT. It HAS to be robust, and it must fit with all 3 touring cases mounted.Must have decent elastic or drawstring to keep the wind from taking it away.

Can't seem to find one that shows it fitting with the cases. Anyone have a suggestion?

I can only say with the bike on the center stand and covered the bike should be tied down so it doesn't blow over.  Good luck finding a cover.  Look into a Dowco Guardian cover.

Google  "hard shell cover for motorcycle".  There are several out there, from $200 to $1K.  Someone makes a nice hard shell that is split in the middle.  You bolt down the front part and drive your bike into it and close and lock it.  No one can tell if there is anything in it or not.  Plus, bolted down gives it good wind resistance.  Weather protection, some security, quick to enter/leave.  But. in a marina, you would need permission to install it.

I used to keep my bike covered at a marina - the advice about the center stand is valid: a good sidewind even uncovered can take a bike off the centerstand, and under a cover it's basically a sail. If you have a prevailing wind, park using the sidestand leeward. Nelson Rigg and Dowco do both market good waterproof covers. Back in the day I had a BMW branded one that held up very well and fit over all the luggage. It was grey with a big logo on the front, so doesn't match the current version, but BMW does still seem to offer it. Check this page here:

https://www.shopbmwmotorcycle.com/products/bmw-all-weather-motorcycle-cover-1

$150 seems pretty reasonable. Googling the listed part number shows it for sale lots of places including ebay for $125.