IGNORED

Experience Wyoming BDR

MotoNews

Published in: Rides

Experience Wyoming BDR intro

Riding and Filming the WYBDR

There’s an old saying, “The answer is always no, unless you ask.” That was my mantra one evening as I listened to the phone ring, waiting for my day-job boss to answer on the other end. Just a few minutes earlier, Aaron Rankin, the program director for the BMW U.S. Rider Academy at the BMW Performance Center called to ask if I’d like to be a part of the Wyoming BDR filming expedition. In addition to my day job, I am an instructor-in-training at the Center. Finally, the call connected, and I enthusiastically explained to my day-job boss that this BDR filming expedition was a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. To my surprise he said, “That sounds amazing! You have to do it!” I’ve never been so excited in my life.

Fast-forward two weeks to the night before the ride officially began, in August of 2021. I woke up around 2:00 a.m. in a full-blown panic attack. I worried I would let everyone down. Shirley

Luckily, others saw something in me that I had yet to realize. Early on, BDR executive director, Inna Thorn said something along the lines of, “You don’t realize how a BDR will change you until you get back home.” How right she was!

So, it Begins…

WYBDR Report baggs