IGNORED

How to Import From Google Maps to BMW App

Steveyacht

First, allow me to admit, I'm not tech savvy. I have planned a route on my laptop, using Google Maps for an upcoming ride to Maggie Valley.  I would like to use the BMW app while riding up there. I would like to import BMW App on my phone.  I have the link, on the phone, but have no idea how to import the data.  

That, or I can just use Google Maps and use my phone.

Thanks in advance for your help, 

Steve

1 hour ago, Steveyacht said:

First, allow me to admit, I'm not tech savvy. I have planned a route on my laptop, using Google Maps for an upcoming ride to Maggie Valley.  I would like to use the BMW app while riding up there. I would like to import BMW App on my phone.  I have the link, on the phone, but have no idea how to import the data.  

That, or I can just use Google Maps and use my phone.

Thanks in advance for your help, 

Steve

The only way I have gotten a google map into bmw app is to first export it as a KMZ file using MY Maps which is part of google maps and allows you to save and export a route.  I then opened that with basecamp from Garmin and resaved it as a GPZ file.   Then I could import the GPZ file into the BMW App.  THe BMW app cannot import the native format that google maps export to.

2 hours ago, TSConver said:

The only way I have gotten a google map into bmw app is to first export it as a KMZ file using MY Maps which is part of google maps and allows you to save and export a route.  I then opened that with basecamp from Garmin and resaved it as a GPZ file.   Then I could import the GPZ file into the BMW App.  THe BMW app cannot import the native format that google maps export to.

Wow. Sounds like more of a pain in the ass than its worth, to me.  I guess I'll just use Google maps on my phone for navigation.  Much easier.

50 minutes ago, Steveyacht said: