IGNORED

Three Days at Barber w/ a '22 BMW RnineT

David

Went back to the race track (Barber Motorsports in Leeds, AL). It was ungodly hot, but I had a blast. Those of you who have done this will know all this stuff, but I thought I'd explain a little for those of you who are interested. We have two groups, and each group has seven riding sessions. Each coach has two riders for the day, and you usually have the same coach (I was there three days). You ride about 20 mins, your technique is dissected for 10 mins by the riding coach, and then your Level 4 consultant spends another 10 mins establishing a plan for the next session. Then 20 mins of rest and planning/visualizing.

I was an instructor for a year at the same Superbike School, but that was a long time ago when I was young and skilled. Or at least young. There were probably 40 people there? I'd guess that only two people were older than me. I had the least powerful bike (105 hp) with the least amount of lean angle (those two horizontally opposed heads) and the only R bike there. Everyone else was riding 180 hp bikes; mainly the BMW 1000RR, which is purpose made for the race track.

I quit riding for 12 years and just got back into it. I'm riding a new BMW RnineT (totally stock, including street tires). I use a lap timer that Steven Knapp told me about. The video below was shot with a GoPro and a Sennheiser microphone under the seat, wrapped in a bunch of foam to cut down on the wind noise. Back when I was riding a lot, I had a dedicated track bike (Aprilia Tuono) that was a lot more powerful and made to race. On that bike I was turning the 2.38 mile track in 1:49 mins.