IGNORED

I change the oil, oil filter, transmission and final drive fluids on my 2005 R1150R recently, now it's running rough and making popping sounds

jeffjames

I change the oil, oil filter, transmission and final drive fluids on my 2005 R1150R recently, now the engine is running rough and making popping sounds. Any suggestions on what to check or what I could have done wrong? I'm a novice at this, but followed very good instructions on how to do it. 

Much appreciated,

Jeff

13 minutes ago, jeffjames said:

I change the oil, oil filter, transmission and final drive fluids on my 2005 R1150R recently, now the engine is running rough and making popping sounds. Any suggestions on what to check or what I could have done wrong? I'm a novice at this, but followed very good instructions on how to do it. 

Much appreciated,

Jeff

Evening Jeff

Start by checking that your right hand throttle cable is FULLY seated in it's adjuster on the throttle body. (if it was tugged on then it's possible the cable housing could be sitting on the top of the adjuster instead of down in it) 

If nothing found with R/H cable then maybe remove the L/H side lower spark plug & look for signs of oil fouling. If you poured the oil in too fast it could have filled the L/H valve cover allowing some oil to get past one of the valve seals.  

Otherwise we probably need to know more about what you did & what you touched or moved during the service.

How much oil did you put in when re-filling the crankcase?

Thanks for your reply. I checked the throttle cable and is fully seated. I pulled out the LH spark plug and didn't see signs of oil, but there is definitely carbon buildup. As for what I did specifically, per a instructional video I followed:

1. Removed oil filter and filler cap.
  2. Removed the oil drain plug and let drain until dry.
  3. Removed the transmission plugs and FD plugs and let drain.
  4. When all was drained, I put on a new oil filter and gasket. (K&N Performance KN-163)