IGNORED

Oddservation on GS noise

joeb

I'm fairly new to the GS which I acquired last year after my 1150RT was subjected to " early retirement  " and therefore I'm still getting acquainted with my 1200 GS . Couple of things to note.

Love the bike with 2 exceptions.

1 The seat , which should rightfully titled after a  famous Tchaikovsky  Suite.

2. The noise , it is painful , unlike the Tchaikovsky Suite.

I put a Puig windscreen on the bike to eliminate extreme buffeting on my helmet at highway speeds and the noticed the engine noise , unlike any other bike I've owned.  I couldn't ride it without earplugs which I remember to insert about 50% of the time AFTER my helmet is on . It sounds like a bag of bolts and a squirrel are in a blender.

I took it to a BMW shop to have a mechanic test drive it to see if something was wrong with the engine.  While he said the engine was fine he did note the bike was noisy.  We concluded that the windscreen was acting like a megaphone and directing the noise straight to my head.  Considered selling the bike.               Recently I changed the oil and filter after a long trip and left the skid plate off for the test ride.  The bike was silent by comparison to with it on. I actually now love the sound ,  ,painfree ! Needless to say , the skid plate is now protecting the bottom shelf of my tool box. 

Now if I can only get rid of  that Tchaikovsky seat and swap it out for a more contemporary  composer like the Turtles. 

Happy Together ?

Cheers

• Like 1

I'm a long time RS owner . Bought my latest without so much as a test ride . The factory seat looked the part ...About an hour and a half was enough to have me looking for a gas station..

The Sargent seat changed everything . I was a long time Corbin fan . 

• Like 1

I've seen accolades for the Russell Day Long seat. Haven't looked into the Sargent yet.