IGNORED

Safety Switches???

ALeighton

Okay, just to keep the no-brainer comments to a minimum: I am an automotive engineer with a perplexing electrical problem on my 2004 BMW R1150RT.

Symptoms:

1) Engine died at an intersection like an electrical shut-off not a fuel shut-off.  I restarted and drove home no problems.

2) Next morning, I put the transmission in neutral, pulled in the clutch, raised the kickstand & started the motorcycle no problem.  Put the transmission in first gear to drive away (engine didn't die) and then the engine shut off like the previous night when I released the clutch.  The cutout was not lack of fuel related, same as before like an electrical shut-off.

3) I restarted the motorcycle following the same scenario and had the same shut-off failure.  Late for work put bike away and drove my truck to work.

a. Starter turned over like the battery had a full charge.  Cheap aftermarket  battery is only 1 month old.  Previous Odyssey battery only lasted one year so thought no point in buying another expensive battery!  Battery predecessor to Odyssey came with used motorcycle unknown age.

4) 10 hours later when I returned to diagnose the motorcycle...

a. Battery reads 12.3V when not loaded.

b. Turning the ignition key illuminates the dash lights very dimly, but no fuel pump noise, no starter solenoid, no turning over

c. Clock is reset to zero

5) Put battery on charger which shows battery is fully charged.  Can't do a load test on bike since no headlights, no starter, no fuel pump.  Will be taking battery to shop for load test tomorrow.

Diagnosis:

1) Safety switches at clutch, transmission, and kickstand all work correctly.  These are not the problem.  Also the engine dying when the clutch was released is the real brain teaser.

2) The degenerative string of failures (while appreciated that I made it home okay) are worrysome.  Not sure what electrical component fades to fail.  Most work or don't.