IGNORED

Can you offer any tips?

009jim

hi Folks, I am new to owning a BMW and my bike is a 2012 camhead. I am soon going to do some items from the 12,000 mile service which were not yet done by the previous owner. Since I have had some awesome responses to previous posts, I decided to ask about the following:-

1. Removing / replacing the upper side fairings, tank bag rail, and .lower side fairings. Are there any usefull tips or things to be wary of?

2. Removing / replacing the tappet covers and checking the valve clearances. Are there any usefull tips or things to be wary of?

3. Removing / replacing spark plugs. Are there any usefull tips or things to be wary of?

4. Draining / replacing gearbox oil. Are there any usefull tips or things to be wary of?

I have already purchased what I believe are the necessary special tools, gaskets, and oils.

Many thanks.

Jim

photo left side.jpg

1. Make several sketches that you can use to indicate which holes get which screws, there are a lot of them .  Don't force anything. If the holes don't line up, reposition the part.

2. Wipe the (reusable) gaskets clean before reinstalling. Don't overtighten the valve cover bolts.  Hand tighten until you feel the "step" just above the threads make contact with the head and STOP. The gaskets will then be properly compressed and will provide enough tension to keep the bolts from loosening. It's easy to strip the threads in the head or break the bolt. Further tightening will not make the gaskets seal any tighter.

3. The coil wires are rather thin and delicate - remove them carefully before pulling the coils. You'll need a thin wall socket for the spark plugs.  Keep it straight on the plug, tight clearances mean cocking it can make it jam in the head. This may have been more of a hexhead issue, but watch for it just the same.