IGNORED

High Beam "Holder"

John Stewart

John Stewart

This weekend I got the R1150RT running for the season and was working on replacing the high beam, which died last fall. This is my first time replacing this light on this model of bike; the low beam I did in the fall, but this is the first time I've tried replacing the high beam.

I got the unit out, and noticed that the black plastic piece which mates with the metal bracket seems like it's melted! I can't even get them to connect back together. Attaching a photo.

This is, uh, bad, right? And I need to buy a new part? I guess the bulb just got too hot at some point? It all seems very weird.

I can get the bulb itself anywhere, right? It's a standard "H3"?

IMG_6062.jpg

This weekend I got the R1150RT running for the season and was working on replacing the high beam, which died last fall. This is my first time replacing this light on this model of bike; the low beam I did in the fall, but this is the first time I've tried replacing the high beam.

I got the unit out, and noticed that the black plastic piece which mates with the metal bracket seems like it's melted! I can't even get them to connect back together. Attaching a photo.

This is, uh, bad, right? And I need to buy a new part? I guess the bulb just got too hot at some point? It all seems very weird.

I can get the bulb itself anywhere, right? It's a standard "H3"?

Afternoon John

I don't believe that BMW services that part separately. You might try to file or grind that burnt blob off then see if you can salvage it. 

Otherwise maybe keep trying E-Bay to see if something pops up, or find a BMW breaking business to see if they can salvage you one.