IGNORED

Starting/Battery issue?

Hadabadachada

Hadabadachada

Hello.

just purchased a used R1200R from 2013

from the dealer, I felt like the battery wasn’t quite right. Push the starter button, display goes blank, takes a second or so then comes back and actually cranks. Feels weak.  I’m no expert on these bikes, or anything for that matter.

They had it green on charge all night. 
even turned around and went back to have dealer test it because it felt weak starting at the gas station.

they put it on the machine ran whatever test and it checked out good. Okay fine, whatever you say.

feels weak tho! 
stopped at batteries plus, had them test it, they said it tests good, and has like 300 some cranking amps on their machine. 
they say the machine tests a cranking load but not a full load, whatever that means. Sounds like diaper talk.

dealer didn’t know how old the battery was but seemed pretty confident it was new. Sure looks newish.

but it just doesn’t feel right. 

Sounds like a bad battery though right? With the display going blank then coming back and starting….

but then again, it’s a new bike to me, maybe this is normal, like ducatis have that weird delayed start thing.

im thinking of just going and buying a new battery, even tho the dealer should pay for it or replace it. They are just 40 miles away and won’t open till Tuesday. 

Is this a normal starting sequence ??

Check with your dealer to verify if the switch blocks were replaced under a recall campaign.  Next check your ground cable from the battery to the other end. Corrosion,  security and condition.  That's all that comes to mind now. You said the battery tested good so you've eliminated the battery for now. 

12 hours ago, Hadabadachada said:

Hello.

just purchased a used R1200R from 2013