IGNORED

My first year with an RT!

2015 Blue RT

It occurred to me I just had my first year with the RT as of last month, and it also just rolled over 100K (about 12K this year) so I thought I'd write a short piece about the experience.

First off, this forum has been invaluable not only in selecting the best model for my needs, but also helping me with the problems I encountered- one of which was self-inflicted. Thanks so much for the advice & help. Some of the stuff I mention below has been documented here in my posts, so I'm not uploading any pictures.

My background is in mainly inline air-cooled 4 Japanese bikes, nearly all of the recent ones (and the two I still have) are shaft drives. It was a big leap for me to go to a liquid cooled bike, but as of now I don't have any regrets (unlike the ST1100 I bought used that sprayed me with coolant).

I bought the bike across the country in Oregon and had it shipped to Florida. It arrived undamaged, and I made some mods for my daily commute:

• Large tail trunk (Amazon).
  • Added LED light strips in trunk lid (2 strips vs 1 strip).
  • Added brake flasher (forget the brand name, but it's the one made for the BMW).
  • LED bulbs (bulbfact.com recommendations) for low & high beam.
  • New Italian (Puig) windshield.
  • Added in a Google Nexus 7" tablet for audio via helmet Bluetooth and navigation (more miss than hit- known GPS issue with these). Tablet adapted to bracket that snaps into OEM GPS location & it wireless charges.

Repaired the side windshield wing after hitting a buzzard in mid-flight in a curve- interrupted his lunch.

The self-inflicted injury was trying to run an octane booster. Bad idea.

New plugs and probably related, new fuel pump and regulator (I think that was the other part I bought).

Replaced the front tire with a Metzler, replaced the pressure sensor and wheel bearings "while I was at it". The light due to the back sensor is on, but the tire is not worn out yet.