IGNORED

Off Road Riding Skills... book(s) recommendations?

Bugs

I've been riding motorcycles for aprox 26 years, but with the exception of a few short adventures in my jr. high school days, it has all been on the slab. There is a R1200GS Adventure in my near future, so I'm in need of developing some off-road riding skills.

Are there any good books covering off-road riding skills that any of you could recommend?

Does honda have an dirt bike rider school up there ?, they have one down here in Colton.

It looks like a blast, some of the teachers are ex-team honda motocross racers.

Don't have any book suggestions but check this outfit out!

http://www.rawhyde-offroad.com/

My off-road riding had previously been limited to 30#, 1-human powered mountain bikes. While this riding GREATLY helped my balance skills (on and off road), making the jump to off road riding on my 650# ADV was not the brightest thing to do. I learned quickly how limited my skills are.

With that as the background, I really enjoyed the Adventure Rally that Jim Hyde and his crew put on in April. In fact I liked it so much, and found my skills so lacking, that I am signed up to attend Jim's RawHyde Adventure Camp this weekend clap.gif

I hear that he runs a first class operation, and judging by the little rally in April, I think that this will be true. Plus everyone I spoke with at the rally basically said the same thing: "Have you taken one of Jim's classes yet? Man, I can't believe how much I learned, and how much I improved in just a couple of days."

Plus he has loaner bikes available for folks who fly in to his schools.

Tom