IGNORED

75W-90 vs 80W-90 in a 2012 R1200 GS

2manybikes

2manybikes

I started a few years ago trying to reduce the number of different oils and fluids for my cars and bikes. So far, I can use 80W-90 in all of my bikes with a final and or middle drive. The GS calls for 75W-90. Since Im not a mechanic, I am going to ask if the 80W-90 is OK to use.  Thanks in advance for any assistance. 

10 hours ago, 2manybikes said:

I started a few years ago trying to reduce the number of different oils and fluids for my cars and bikes. So far, I can use 80W-90 in all of my bikes with a final and or middle drive. The GS calls for 75W-90. Since Im not a mechanic, I am going to ask if the 80W-90 is OK to use.  Thanks in advance for any assistance. 

Morning  2manybikes

It would probably work but not worth the risk. If BMW thought that 80W-90 was OK then that would be in the specifications.

As a rule  most 80W-90 is conventional gear oil (not synthetic) 

As a rule  most 75W-90 is synthetic gear oil (not conventional) 

• 4 weeks later...

The "W" is the "Winter" equivalent weight when the oil is cold, in the case of gear oil this is measured at 0 degrees F, both your oils are 90 weight at operating temperature. Question is what range do you ride and is the lower temperature protection necessary?

2 hours ago, NewportCycle said:

The "W" is the "Winter" equivalent weight when the oil is cold, in the case of gear oil this is measured at 0 degrees F, both your oils are 90 weight at operating temperature. Question is what range do you ride and is the lower temperature protection necessary?

Afternoon  NewportCycle

I do believe the most single weight vehicle gear lubes are tested at 100°c (212°f).

And most multi-weight gear lubes are tested at both  40C (104°f)  & 100°c (212°f).

Another possible consideration - I would avoid any gear oils which state that they can be used in "limited slip" applications, since they contain friction modifiers.