IGNORED

Straight Line Stability

JamesW

I probably could have picked a better title but I guess my creativity lacks today.  Anyway, I was recently told that if a bike tends to wander slightly side to side in the lane of travel with constant rider input required to keep going in a straight line it may be caused by the front wheel having a smaller diameter than the rear wheel.  Could there be any truth to this?  I was also told that the GS bikes don't exhibit this wander lust because the front wheel diameter is greater than that of the rear wheel hence they are less fatiguing to ride on paved roads.  I've no experience with the GS so I have no clue.  I'm just curious.

Never heard of this. Usually due to worn tires, road design, misaligned wheels or chassis, low tire pressure. Even windshield or mirrors blowing the front end around.

If the bike has saddlebags, it could happen with one side being overloaded, or loaded much heavier than the other.

1 hour ago, Hosstage said:

Never heard of this. Usually due to worn tires, road design, misaligned wheels, low tire pressure.

... and/or worn wheel bushings, swing arm bushings, or any similar component that could cause the wheels to shimmy.  Check 'em all out for excess play.

• Like 1

I don't know anything about relative wheel diameter's impact on this, but I can ride my 1200GSA with no hands in most straight paved conditions and through light curves easily - it's much harder to do that on other bikes I've had, like my current R1100S. 

I think this is a common problem on the RT's.  My oil head and wet head will not hold a straight line if you take your hands off the bars.  DR and some other had a bit of a remedy on the oil heads if I remember correctly; I'm probably not remembering correctly but it seems like it was adding a washer or something to shim the rear wheel a certain way.