IGNORED

Pros and Cons of 2004 R1150 RT

Rick W2123

I am looking to purchase a 2004 R 1150 RT for my first BMW sport cruiser, Any opinions and suggestions on the bike would be helpful, I am not a mechanic and am looking for a solid bike, This bike has 22k on it and they are asking $4200.00 is this a good deal or should I shop around.

A little high IMO. But, if it’s pristine and the supply is low in your area I guess it is what it is.

I just posted in the Craigslist find of the day thread a 2010 RT with 5,000 miles for five grand. It didn’t last very long.

Pros: Likely one of the best looking bikes made. The 2004 ( and the few 2005's they made) R 1150 RT is the best mechanically of the 1100-1150 series. 

Cons: Likely still one of the most likely to need repair BMW motorcycles. From final drive bearing issues to ABS system problems they CAN need serious mechanical attention. That said, they also can lead to some of the most fulfilling work and learning experiences with other BMW owners. They are not too complicated to work on, but they do take patience ( if for no other reason than the task of properly removing body panels and learning the proper brake flush procedure). Don't really need expensive tools. That bike is now approaching 20 years old. Nothing good comes from that, so be prepared to work on ANYTHING that old.

Summary: Price may not be too high...IF you want that model with low miles. Low miles are good...but was the maintenance kept up. Especially on the braking system as that will be expensive to repair. My advice is to pass. Look for a newer RT. From 2010 and up. I think you might find them in a price range that you can be happy with. I would take a 70,000 mile 2010 over the 2004 with 22K and feel better off reliability wise.