IGNORED

Earplugs

Scott9999

I guess that this could have gone under the "Riding Well" section, but here it is.

I am looking around at helmets, and as always, I picked up on unrelated stuff that makes my shopping far more time consuming.  I've heard about the need or value for ear plugs in passing, over the years.  I've never worn them.  I have some hearing loss, but I'm quite sure that's more from my time aboard US Navy ships where the average sound almost anywhere seemed to be above 100 DB, and many times, much higher.  But I digress.

Found this interesting and informative article on the subject, so I'm sharing it for y'all.

https://www.bennetts.co.uk/bikesocial/news-and-views/advice/biking-tips/what_are_best_motorcycle_earplugs_protect_hearing_custom_foam

I’ve been wearing ear plugs since 2000. Won’t ride without them. When I first started wearing them I didn’t like the muted normal sounds of the bike and traffic. It didn’t take long to adjust

If we go to a restaurant, movie, or other place where noise is annoying, we put them in. My best friend plays the radio in his car to an annoying level. I wear plugs. Problem solved. He’s happy and so am I

Morning  Scott9999

Ear plugs are one of those things that I REALLY REALLY REALLY wished I had started wearing earlier in my life.  (before I actually had irreversible hearing loss).

I have been wearing ear plugs for every ride since the 1990's but that was way too late in my riding/shooting/mowing/farm equipment/loud engines/pneumatic tools/etc life.

I now use ear plugs (religiously) for just about anything loud or hearing damaging, but that only protects what little hearing I have left, doesn't bring back the hearing I lost being stupid from the 1950's to the 1990's.

I raced snowmobiles in my younger days with snappy 2 strokes with expansion chambers with the open stingers ending right beside me. A couple of times I returned to the pits with  blood coming out of my ears (still too stupid to wear ear plugs).