IGNORED

My newly acquired R1200RT

Geekmaster

Just got this 2014 R1200RT today and enjoyed a nice fall ride.  It'll get some farkles (like crash bars) over the winter and a new set of rubber come spring.  It has just under 12k miles, so I'll be doing the 12k service this winter too.  It was a private sale for a decent price, otherwise I would have insisted on the 12k service.

Coming from an '09 Yamaha FZ6R, this is one nice bike.  Riding on a very cool fall day is now pleasurable, and I don't need to worry about the severe wind noise.

I've been learning a lot about this bike over the past few weeks, and I'm sure there's much more to learn.

R1200T-1.jpg

• Like 7

Nice looking bike. I've been riding BMW twins since 1971. I like the tug and grunt of the horizontal twin. Had some other bikes but this was always my go to ride, especially if I needed to rack up a couple of 500 mile days comfortably.

Good luck with your new ride.

MichiganBob

Nice bike.  Cool looking helmet.  Welcome to the forum.  

In case you are interested, Boxflyer has a few videos on Farkles and 12 K service.   They are very helpful.

Cheers,

Thanks!  Yes, I watched quite a few of Boxflyer's videos before I bought the bike.  Believe me, I'll probably have them playing on my iPad as I do the service.  Not sure how important it is to check the cam timing, thought it's not specified for the 12k service?  I've tried to find the special tools, but haven't been able to find them online (and I hear they're very expensive).

Max BMW can get you the alignment tool for the cams.  Search parts for  83302327796 ALIGNMENT JIG $38.08   

In one of Boxflyer's videos, he shows you a DIY cam chain tensioner that you can put together.   He may be able to give you the part number for the top dead center indicator tool.  I cannot find that part number at the moment.