IGNORED

A whiff of burning oil

Jharpphoto

Went for a spin yesterday while it was 91 degrees. Yay GA. This is a new bike to me (2013 RT) and it was a little low on oil when I picked it up and hadn’t been ridden much by the previous owner ( 9K miles total). When I got home and parked in the garage a little waft of burning oil was smelled. Pretty faint and it was so freaking hot outside. Don’t want to over react, but that should be normal right?

I'm no expert on nuthin, but no, that isn't the norm for any of these bikes, as far as I know.  Oil on the pipes is what I'd look for first.  Wouldn't take much.

Check for burned oil on the pipes, headers, cat.

Fork seals leaking, blowing back on the pipes??

Front calipers leaking blowing back on pipes??

Engine oil from seals, window, banjo's leaking down on pipes??

Engine oil from cyl base, heads, or ?? dripping on headers??

Transmission oil dripping on cat??

Clutch slave cyl dripping on cat??

Rear shock dripping on cat??

Blow some dust or baking flour around down there and see what's weeping.  

What else??

How hard did you ride it before parking?

I often sense a something similar on my 1250 RT when I park it in the garage; I am usually pretty hard on it right up until the last tenth of mile, or so.  I think mine may be related to hot exhaust pipes, not oil burning.  I do not see any loss of oil, though.

You may want to keep an eye on it.

I  wasn’t riding it very hard but also not grandpa riding either.  I’ll keep an eye on it. The oil level is not moving so hopefully no big deal.

forgot to mention what is probably an important detail. When I picked up the bike it appeared as if there had been some oil that dripped from the head at the oil fill spot. I rode it home and wiped it off but perhaps some of that oil leaked down further into the recesses that I missed and that is what is burning off?