seats killing my butt

steveg

Anyone else having trouble with the stock seat? It looks beautiful and get alot of compliments on it but this thing is killing me,  I have a bill mayer seat on my R1100RT with over 200000 miles and it's alot better.  Any comment's or suggestions?

Comments....BMW seats are not comfortable on long rides.  If you like the Bill Mayer seat, get another one.  If you aren't happy with BM, I think the most comfortable seat you can put on an RT is from Russell Day Long.  I've been riding on them for over 20 years now.  I think others here will say the same.  There are other aftermarket seats, but Russell has worked for me

BMW Motorcycle Seat | Gallery | Russell Cycle Products (day-long.com)

For my '19 RT, I bought a used seat on fleabay (so that I may keep riding) and sent it to http://laamseats.com/ for a build.   He used to work for one of the brothers that did custom seats.   The stock heating element will be transferred over to the new seat, so no worries about that.    Price wise, I guess he would be on par with all the others out there, but I did not do any research;  just word of mouth and a test ride on another seat built for another board member.

I like the set-up and did not have any issues during long riding days for the ART's.  The seat was built over-the-phone and I am satisfied with the result.   He does have in-person fitting, if you are in the neighborhood.

• Like 1

I replaced my stock seat with a Seth Laam seat as well.  He does good work.  Another seat manufacturer you might want to check out is Seat Concepts.   I just discovered this company and a friend of mine has their product and is very satisfied.  They go about the seat build a little different and a lot less expensive than other seat builders.   

RT stock seats are the suck. I went with Bill Mayer on my 05, and on my 18 I went with his worker who opened his own shop. Both are in Ventura and both of their seats were/are outstanding.