IGNORED

I removed my ABS/power assist yesterday, and I love it!

SJ David

OK, the whole thing took 2 hrs and 40 from start to test ride. Loved it. It is so much better without the power assist module,  the ABS we will see but never had it until this bike and I have been riding for over 30 years.

It was super easy, followed the first post in this https://www.ukgser.com/forums/showthread.php/232002-Simple-NO-COST-servo-removal-of-1150-IABS-system

by DaveH, just for the removal of the module and connecting the lines back......yes it is true I did not spend a dime either doing it, not for fittings or new lines or even a relay, I used the ABS relay since it no longer has a job. However I went to post #163 by tadhgocuilleain so as not to cut any wires or have to remove any bulbs and make a nifty small connection for the electrical changes. It was super easy. Finished ABS harness connector complete is shown below. I just plugged it in and everything worked as it should.

super easy electrical.png

Hey that’s great!   I’m sure that if I can keep my ‘03 RT running long enough I will need to do the same.   Currently my iABS works great.    

thanks! 

I like my '03 RT's brakes much better without the assist than with. One thing I've discovered I do need to be careful with is the rear brake. It's pretty strong and a couple of times I've locked the rear wheel and had to quickly lighten up on the brake pedal. Before I removed the ABS module my rear brake pedal did very little.

32 minutes ago, RogerC60 said:

I like my '03 RT's brakes much better without the assist than with. One thing I've discovered I do need to be careful with is the rear brake. It's pretty strong and a couple of times I've locked the rear wheel and had to quickly lighten up on the brake pedal. Before I removed the ABS module my rear brake pedal did very little.

Morning Roger