IGNORED

R1100 Tranny problems with Bruno gone?

VI Al

Hi.   Back on this site after 11 years!  It has been so long I have forgotten my old email address etc. so I am a noob again.

I am retired now and playing around with the idea of another R1100, an RT or perhaps a GS, there are a few around for sale but there is one problem to sort out before I buy.  Here in BC you can register a bike or car as a collector once it is 25 years old. This knocks the registration/insurance down by  70% or so and looks cool to boot.  So the bike has to be a 1996 or older, my 1100RT was a 97 and had a common (I believe) transmission problem, jumping out of gear constantly.  The solution was to pull the tranny and ship it off to Bruno in Ontario to have some gears undercut. Bruno has pasted away I am afraid (found out watching Chris Harris on YouTube).  This has me gun shy about buying one of these bikes,  does anyone out there know what the plan B is now.

Al

BMW solved that problem in 1997 by going to the M97 transmission. If you got an early '97 you may have had an old (M94) tranny. If you wan to make sure you avoid that issue get a 98-99 GS or a 98-00 RT. 

6 hours ago, VI Al said:

Hi.   Back on this site after 11 years!  It has been so long I have forgotten my old email address etc. so I am a noob again.