IGNORED

A Longish Review of the R1200ST

Mike

While I’m fairly new to the ST ownership experience, I finally have enough miles that I feel I can finally accurately review the bike. I previously rode a ‘99 R1100RT, which I bought new, and purchased the ST a few weeks ago from Tag Sport BMW in Geneva, IL. Here are my impressions:

The first thing that comes to mind is my remarkable transformation from an ST basher to an ST owner. When I saw the photos on line, my reaction was “What in God’s name were they thinking?” dopeslap.gif The ST is, uh, different–it carries its stacked headlights higher than other sport-oriented bikes, and the approach of placing the lights in a position where they are surrounded by the windscreen is pretty unconventional. However, when I saw the ST in person, my previously negative reaction mellowed substantially. Now–and maybe this is just love speaking–I like the way it looks. It’s certainly unconventional, but it’s actually a pretty cohesive design. My theory on why it looks better in person actually has to do with the perspective from which most of the photos are taken, but that’s neither here nor there. My bottom line is that I like the way she looks, and I don’t care what the rest of you think. But, it also taught me a valuable lesson about reserving judgment until I see something in person. Interestingly, the reaction from the twenty-something crowd that rides Gixxers and R1s has been pretty much along the lines of "Holy crap . . . that's awesome!" Not that I should care, I guess. But it's nice, as a geezer, to have some street cred. grin.gif