IGNORED

New member, questions re: losing weight on a '96 RT

MingOnMongo

MingOnMongo

Hi, folks... newbie here from AZ, though longtime RT fan, now with an '82 R100RT, and about to purchase a '96 R1100RT.

Two questions, maybe covered before elsewhere. Have owned previous 1100 & 1150RT's and great, durable machines, though the 'weight' has always bugged me. Understood about bypassing and removing the 20-30lb ABS unit, and also maybe saving a few lbs by not always topping off the tank. But any other ideas for losing a few more pounds on these kinda 'top heavy' feeling beasts (especially at low speeds)?

Second, 25+ year old machines in AZ can register as 'exempt' classic vehicles, but dunno whether the '96, which will be 25 y.o. next year, would qualify, as it has to be recognized somewhere as a 'classic' vehicle. But would imagine that this being the first year of an entirely new model and series for BMW might possibly qualify, though dunno what organization, if any might determine such a thing. Any thoughts?

• Like 1
5 hours ago, MingOnMongo said:

Hi, folks... newbie here from AZ, though longtime RT fan, now with an '82 R100RT, and about to purchase a '96 R1100RT.

Two questions, maybe covered before elsewhere. Have owned previous 1100 & 1150RT's and great, durable machines, though the 'weight' has always bugged me. Understood about bypassing and removing the 20-30lb ABS unit, and also maybe saving a few lbs by not always topping off the tank. But any other ideas for losing a few more pounds on these kinda 'top heavy' feeling beasts (especially at low speeds)?