IGNORED

Purchasing a broken R1150R... Questions?

nwtacoma

Very first post on this forum... I'm new to oilheads. I started on a 650GS, quickly graduated to a KTM 1190. Reluctantly sold it to get into a house. That was 5 years ago. Fast forward, I just found an '02 R1150R for sale. Can't pass up on the price! 101K on the bike. Owner said it popped out of 3rd gear thinking he missed a shift. Grabbed it again and it held for a second and then he heard a loud metal bang sound. He was able to hobble it over to a safe part on the shoulder. He secured the bike by as best he could until he could return for the bike. It was dark by the time he returned and the bike was still there, but someone had tried to steal it by hammering a screw driver into the ignition.

So, I'm hoping there are some helpful folks here to lend some advice & expertise. I can't test the bike out because the steering is locked and unable to unlock it with the key (theft damage). How easy or difficult is it to change the ignition switch out, especially without being able to unlock it.

Second question, which has me more concerned, the clunk and now no clutch bite. I've done so much research online in the last 24hours regarding the possible scenarios. The current owner seems to think he grenaded the clutch. My research is leaning more towards stripped out splines on the input shaft or possible other internal breakage. Any advice or experience with this?

I'm planning to pick this bike up in 2 days and tackle the job of getting it back on the road myself. I'm no mechanic by trade, but I'm very handy and not afraid of much when it comes to tinkering, fixing and repairing. I've done it all from rebuilding VW's to Yanmar Tractors.

Any info that might shed some light would be very helpful. Thanks in advance! - Nick