IGNORED

New rider looking for advice

Hi gang — I’m a new rider who’s looking to get into sport touring. Shop piping bikes right now and am looking at 600-850 G or S bikes. I’m located in San Diego and am also looking for safety courses. Any advice to help me get started is welcome and appreciated.  Steve

A Motorcycle Safety Foundation course is the place to start: https://www.msf-usa.org/ If they had been around when I started riding in 1962, I might have fallen over fewer times.

How tall are you? The F650GS and F700GS have a low-suspension option. My wife and I rode a F700GS about 1200 miles around Italy 2 years ago. It never lacked for power, even with a passenger. The Suzuki V-Strom 650 is also generally regarded as a good starter bike, and can probably be found used for less than a BMW. 

The F-series GS bikes are good choices because they are relatively light, the handlebars provide plenty of leverage, and they don't have a lot of plastic to damage if one tips over. Start with a used bike in good shape.

• Like 1

For rider safety courses, California does no use MSF. Instead they use Lee Parks’ Total Control curriculum and administer the classes through the California Highway Patrol.  It is called the California Motorcycle Saftey Program.    https://cmsp.msi5.com/.  They provide the motorcycle.    

Dont stop there.  Instead of buying a dream bike,  find a well used bike in the riding style you think you are interested in for around $2,000.   One that when it falls over and gets scratched, you won’t care.  Then go out and take the more advanced rider courses until you can handle the bike like second nature and have mastered everything from decreasing radius, off camber, downhill turns as well as tight parking lot maneuvers.   

then sell the $2,000 bike for $2,000 and buy your dream bike. 

• Like 3
14 hours ago, Selden said: