IGNORED

Bike prep and things to look for - handlebars?

kbddbd

Hello - New to this forum and BMW bikes. I know all machines have their quirks and am looking to work down the list of things to check, things to never do, or always do, etc... from folks who know their way around these bikes. I am open to any communication. I just bought my first BMW bike Its a 1994 R1100RS 72K miles. It runs very well and looks like its been taken care of. I have been reading about and think I know the basics; TB sync, pivot bearing, final drive lubrication....  I mostly need to move the handlebars back and a bit wider but cant quite figure out how and am looking for ways to make my own tools if possible for the sync tool. Also looking for a good source for rear tail bag. At 72K miles are there things I should be doing as a preventative measure? Wheel bearings, fuel pumps, or maybe cam chain? those kinds of things?

I am an experienced mechanic - heavy technical is OK 

Two things I would do right away if they haven't been done already.  I would replace the front brake lines with steel braided lines, and I would  replace the ignition timer (AKA Hall Effect Sensor). Those are both known problem areas on an older oilhead. Besides that, change the fluids and air filter, adjust the valves, synch the throttle bodies, and ride it for awhile.

• Thanks 1

kbddbd

For TB sync I use 2-30+ feet of (i think) 5/16 clear tubing (With two barbed connectors because I only found 20 foot lengths).  I put on end in a bottle of antifreeze (for the color) and run it up 10 feet (or more) over a soft bend and back down to the floor to  my TBs.  It's got a scale of several feet but be careful not to pull the antifreeze over the top.  That would be bad.

Thank you for those adds - I wasnt aware of the hall effect issue but will look into it for sure. The brake lines I had thought about doing anyways eventually.