IGNORED

Thoughts on Mesh Intercoms

Cap

I have been using Sena Bluetooth intercoms for many years.  They work great for listening to music or other media via my helmet speakers.  I also ride in groups of 2-4 riders, and I have found that Bluetooth intercoms are OK.  They work well enough that I would not consider riding without them, but not so well that I haven’t been hoping for something better.  Mesh intercoms are maturing, and I recently upgraded.  I did some cursory research and price scanning, and chose Cardo Packtalk Bold. 

I confess that I didn’t fully appreciate the differences that mesh intercoms impose on my communications habits.  Using the old Sena intercoms, after fussing with the point-to-point rider pairing process, the use-mode is fairly simple.  When riding, if I want to talk with someone, I press my intercom button once, twice, or three times depending on the rider with whom I want to connect.  And that connection is preemptively established with the other rider.  That is, they have no choice.  They might get a tone to announce the connection, but I can interrupt whatever they are doing.  “Yo!”

Having established a connection, either rider can “hang up.”  This use mode allows us to listen to our own media sources, and periodically be interrupted by a riding partner if they think the situation warrants. “Hey, at the next intersection, let’s stop and find a gas station.”  Alternatively, a pair of riders can choose to leave the channel open continuously, and yack away at each other.  I’ve done that, too.  With Sena bluetooth, it is theoretically possible for 3 or 4 riders to talk in a group, but it never seems to work well. That is the old Bluetooth mode, and it makes sense to me for rider-to-rider communications, although I would prefer longer range and better voice clarity.