IGNORED

Wunderlich Central Locking for GPS - Quick Review and Install Tip

Claudio

I am still learning my way around the fairing removal and other aspects of my new 2019 R1250RT.  I got mine fully loaded with the Nav and central locking.

A few weeks ago, after looking for a way to secure the GPS (all of the mount-based solutions were ugly and cumbersome) Wunderlich released a central locking add-on for the R1250RT.

I installed it without too much difficulty (about 30 minutes as I was being cautious) and am very impressed with the design and capabilities.

How does it work?

It injects a metal tab when locked that prevents one from depressing the nav mount release. Pretty simple. Clean. No visible "cage" like other options.

Is it highly secure?

Moderately secure.  If someone is truly determined to pry out your GPS unit, they'll succeed because the normal Garmin mount is exposed (a thick screwdriver or mini pry bar and they've damaged the dash and got your device).  Other solutions generally block direct access to pry the mount and may be a bit more secure as a result.

Installation tip:

Add a slight bend (towards the left side of the bike ) to the metal tab that gets inserted into the quick release when locked.  This will ensure it doesn't jam on the plastic slider that depresses the release when not locked. Mine was jamming once in a while until I did this slight mod.

This is what the unit looks like. The metal prong is the one I added a very minor bend and sanded the edge on.  Initially it was catching on the plastic mount release slightly.  

If your bike has an XM receiver, the existing mount is removed and the receiver is adhered to the circular metal area

image.png.c5d929a111fcf57b40ec70b9b1df8c9e.png

• 2 weeks later...
Little_Brit