IGNORED

Trouble with central lock / alarm fob

480VAC

I just bought a used 2014 R1200RT with central locking, alarm and Tpms.  The alarm/lock fob was not working, so I put in a new battery.   But still it does not work.  Red light blinks when I press buttons.
following the instructions in the manual To login remote says to turn on the ignition, then press button 2 twice.  The bike is supposed to beep acknowledging that It’s done,  but the bike makes no noise.

i can set the alarm manually, but the fob won’t do it, it also won’t unlock the central locking, though that works on the handlebar.  I tried syncing the remote following instructions in the manual also, it similarly does not work.

fortunately I’m an electrical engineer and I was able to use an oscilloscope to see that the fob is outputting a 432MHz signal when the the button is pressed.  So it seems that the issue is likely on the bike side.  

Can anyone offer any suggestions of what I might try?

I can certainly live with this not working,  but it bugs me to know that it’s broken.

Jeff

Interesting.

Couple of suggestions

1) Get the Dealer to do it

2) Apparently the Ring antenna is under the plastic cover near the windshield. It's reported that some users had problems getting new fobs paired. Now despite that this relates to the keyless bikes..later then 2014 models, the ringfeed antenna would be located in the same spot. They had to remove the windshield and then the black plastic cover behind the dashboard to get close enough. Once paired, distance wasn't an issue anymore.

It might be worth a try to raise the windshield all the way to the top, then lay the fob directly behind the instrument panel on the black plastic behind it and try the procedure again.

Jeff.….I have a 14RT.  for my central lock it isn't push twice....it's hold it down until you hear it click.

Thanks for the responses.